Republic of Ireland squad named for World Cup qualifier in the Netherlands

Fri, Nov 17 2017

Denise O'Sullivan in action during a recent friendly draw with Iceland at Tallaght Stadium. Credit: Al Robinson

Republic of Ireland women’s national team manager Colin Bell has named a squad of 21 for the trip to the Netherlands for their World Cup qualifier on the 28th of November.


Ireland take on European Champions the Netherlands at Stadion de Goffert in Nijmegen - 7pm Irish time – in front of an expected crowd of 12,000.


While the Netherlands are undoubtedly a force to be reckoned with, having added a victory over a highly touted Norway side to their summer triumph at the Euros, Bell insists it’s a challenge his players relish.


“When the draw was made, the game against the Netherlands was always one which is going to excite the players and the staff,” Bell told the FAI's official website.


“We know we’re set to face one of the best teams in the world at the moment.”


With a pair of impressive 2-0 away victories against Northern Ireland and Slovakia in the group so far, Ireland will be looking to create problems for an in-form Dutch side.


“We’ve demonstrated in our first two games of the campaign how good we are and we need to carry that confidence into the game.


“We’ve kept two clean sheets, both away from home, and we’ll need to show those same qualities in the Netherlands to get a result.”


“The players will report in on Monday so we can take advantage of the full international window and have the best preparation ahead of what will be one of the most difficult tests of our campaign.”


A good result in the Netherlands will lay down a marker for the progress this Irish side can make during this campaign.


Republic of Ireland squad to face the Netherlands:


Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan, Amanda Budden, Amanda McQuillan.


Defenders: Harriet Scott, Megan Campbell, Sophie Perry, Diane Caldwell, Louise Quinn, Claire Walsh.


Midfielders: Tyler Toland, Niamh Fahey, Karen Duggan, Denise O’Sullivan, Roma McLaughlin.


Attackers: Katie McCabe, Leanne Kiernan, Heather Payne, Amber Barrett, Claire O’Riordan, Isibeal Atkinson, Ruesha Littlejohn.