Two home-based players named in Ireland squad for under-17 European Championships

Fri, May 04 2018

The Irish will be looking to draw on a big Irish support in their opening game on Saturday. Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

Colin O’Brien has announced his Under-17 squad for the European Championship Finals which get underway in the U.K today.

Ireland are in Group C along with Belgium, Denmark and Bosnia & Herzegovina and will get their campaign underway on Saturday 5th May against Belgium at Loughborough University Stadium (kick-off 5.45pm)

Ireland’s best ever finish in the tournament came just last year as they reached the quarter final stage and this year they will hope to make further progress as they begin the tournament as top seeds as a result of their hugely impressive and unbeaten qualifying campaign.

Ireland are in good company heading for the tournament if their qualifying stats are anything to go by. With eighteen goals in just six matches on the road to qualifying they lead the scoring charts along with Spain and Norway at the top and can also boast having striker Adam Idah in their ranks who faces into the tournament as the top scorer in Europe with a return of eight goals.

England are the current Under-17 World Champions but Ireland will be in confident mood along with the knowledge that next year’s tournament will take place here in Ireland so it would be nice to have that to look forward to as hosts and with the title of European Champions.

Speaking ahead of the opening game, Ireland Head Coach Colin O’Brien said the whole squad are really looking forward to the tournament.

“Everything has gone really well so far. We are ready to embrace the challenge of the first game,” he said.

With the close proximity of the tournament to Ireland and the large Irish community based in the UK, demand for tickets has been high, with Irish fans expected to turn out in big numbers. 

“We know how good the Irish support can be. It will be great to get that this week as we will need it. These tournaments are all about the three games in the group to start. They’ll all pose different challenges and any extra support we can get that will help us will be very much appreciated,”

Republic of Ireland Squad: Kian Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Max Murphy (Stoke City), Kameron Ledwidge (Southampton), Oisin McEntee (Newcastle United), Nathan Collins (Stoke City), Jason Knight (Derby County), Callum Thompson (Wolves), Barry Coffey (Celtic), Adam Idah ( Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Sean Brennan (Southampton), Marc Walsh (Swansea City), Ray O’Sullivan (Wolves), Adam O’Reilly (Preston North End), Jordan McEneff (Arsenal), Jimmy Corcoran ( Cherry Orchard), Tyriek Wright (Aston Villa), Luca  Connell ( Bolton Wanderers), Ryan Cassidy (Watford), Conor Grant (Sheffield Wednesday).