Limerick join Bray in being hit with transfer ban over unpaid wages

Tue, Jul 17 2018

The Markets Field in Limerick. Credit: Michael P Ryan (ETPhotos)

Limerick have been banned from signing players for the remainder of the 2018 season owing to their recent failure to pay money owed to players.

The FAI acknowledged in a statement on Monday evening that, after meeting with the club, they have received assurance that outstanding wages will be paid by Tuesday, July 17th.

In spite of this, the Blues have been barred from signing any new players until the end of the season, the same punishment meted out to Bray Wanderers hours earlier.

The financial strife at the Markets Field has seen first-team players Brendan Clarke, Conor Clifford, Mark O'Sullivan, Danny Kearns, Henry Cameron and Tony Whitehead leave the club.

“The Football Association of Ireland and Limerick FC met this evening (July 16) to address outstanding monies owed to the club’s players.

“Following meetings with the FAI and the club over recent weeks, Limerick FC have this evening confirmed a resolution whereby the club’s players will receive monies owed to them by Tuesday (July 17).

“The club have been informed that they will not be permitted to sign any new players for the remainder of the 2018 SSE Airtricity League season.

“The FAI will continue to work closely with the club to monitor their financial situation.”