John O'Shea, Wes Brown and Johan Mjallby among names added for Liam Miller tribute game

Mon, Sep 24 2018

Miller in action for hometown club Cork City in 2015. Credit: Tom Beary (ETPhotos)

Champions League winners John O’Shea and Wes Brown are the latest names to be added to the mix for Tuesday’s Liam Miller tribute match at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Ian Harte, Graham Kavanagh, Stephen Kelly and John Mjallby have also been added to the line-up for the 45,000 sell-out fundraiser for the late Ireland international.

Former Ireland international O’Shea and his onetime Old Trafford teammate Brown have been added to an all-star Manchester United XI which will be managed by Roy Keane.

Also included in the Reds squad are current Wales manager Ryan Giggs, as well as multiple Champions League-winner Paul Scholes, Rio Ferdinand, Denis Irwin and Gary Neville.

A combined Ireland and Celtic XI, managed by Martin O’Neill, will comprise Miller’s former teammates from his early career in Glasgow and his international days.

Harte, Kavanagh, Kelly and Mjallby join the likes of Robbie Keane, Damien Duff, John Hartson and Paul Lambert on the green side.

Bohemians goalkeeper Shane Supple, Neil Lennon, Lee Carsley and Ronnie Johnsen, who had been announced in the initial squads, have not been included on the updated list.

The match takes place at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in Miller’s hometown of Cork on Tuesday afternoon and will be broadcast free-to-air on Virgin Media Three (kick-off 3pm).

Manchester United XI squad:

Roy Carroll

Gary Neville

Denis Irwin

David May

Rio Ferdinand

Wes Brown

Nicky Butt

Louis Saha

Andy Cole

Ryan Giggs

Kevin Pilkington

Alan Smith

Roy Keane

Paul Scholes

Dion Dublin

John O’Shea

Michael Clegg

Quinton Fortune

Mikael Silvestre


Celtic/Ireland XI squad:

David Forde

Stephen Carr

Kevin Kilbane

Kenny Cunningham

Richard Dunne

Keith Andrews

Stephen Mcphail

Andy Reid

Kevin Doyle

John Hartson

Robbie Keane

Damien Duff

Ian Harte

Paul Lambert

Graham Kavanagh

Stylian Petrov

Stephen Kelly

Lee Carsley

Colin Healy

Shaun Maloney

Johan Mjallby