Best FIFA Awards 2018 - who is nominated?

Mon, Sep 24 2018

Ronaldo pictured ahead of the 2017 Champions League final. Credit: Macdara Ferris (ETPhotos)

Cristiano Ronaldo will look to retain his Best Men's Player award for a third year at the Best FIFA Awards in London on Monday night.

World Cup Golden Ball winner Luka Modric of Real Madrid and Liverpool striker Mo Salah are also up for football's most prestigious men's award.

The Portuguese won't face competition from Lionel Messi for the award after the Barcelona striker was omitted from the final three for the first time in 12 years.

There will be a new Best Women's Player after last year's winner Lieke Martens of Barcelona and the Netherlands was left off the list.

Brazilian legend Marta, who plays in the US with Orlando Pride, is nominated for a second time, while Lyon pair Ada Hederberg of Norway and Dzsenifer Marozsán of Germany are also up.

World Cup-winning France coach Didier Deschamps will again duke it out with Croatia's Zlatk Dalic, while triple Champions League-winning Real coach Zinedine Zidane completes the list.

Best Women's coach is between reigning champion, Netherlands coach Sarina Wiegman, Japan's Asako Takakura and Reynald Pedros of Lyon.

Lionel Messi's World Cup goal against Nigeria and Benjamin Pavard's against Argentina are two of the World Cup goals up for the Puskas Award, while Ronaldo's overhead kick in the Champions League semi-final against current club Juventus is also in the mix.

The awards begin around 7.30pm Irish time and will be broadcast live on RTE2 - Soccer Republic has been pushed back to 11pm.


Nominees in full:


The Best Fifa Men’s Player:


Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC, formerly Real Madrid CF)

Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid CF)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC)


The Best Fifa Women’s Player:

Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)

Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais)

Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride)


The Best Fifa Men’s Coach:

Zlatko Dalic (Croatia/Croatia national team)

Didier Deschamps (France/France national team)

Zinédine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF)


The Best Fifa Women’s Coach:

Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)

Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team)

Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team)


The Best Fifa Goalkeeper:

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC)

Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC)

Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC)


Fifa Puskás Award:

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF) – v. Liverpool FC

Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – v. Croatia

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC) – v. Olympiacos FC

Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) – v. América MG

Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC) – v. Melbourne City FC

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – v. Nigeria

Benjamin Pavard (France) – v. Argentina

Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – v. IR Iran

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) – v. Juventus FC

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) – v. Everton FC


Fifa Fan Award:

Sebastián Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile)

Peru fans

Japan and Senegal fans