Ian Morris to welcome old club Bohemians as Shelbourne seek third straight Leinster Senior Cup

Thu, Jan 03 2019

Shelbourne players celebrate their penalty shoot-out win over St Patrick's Athletic in last year's final. Credit: Paul Dolan (ETPhotos)

New Shelbourne manager Ian Morris will face an early visit from former side Bohemians as the Reds seek to retain their Leinster Senior Cup crown for a third year.

The holders have been drawn at home to the Gypsies – who were the last side before Shelbourne to lift the crown with a 4-0 win over Wexford Youths in 2016 – in the pick of the fourth round games.

The two most successful teams in the competition’s history – Bohs having won a record 32 times to Shels’ 21 – last met in the competition two years ago when Shels ran out 3-0 winners at Dalymount.

Last year's beaten finalists St Patrick's Athletic will host Wexford in a repeat of last season’s quarter-final, when the Saints were comfortable 5-0 winners at Richmond Park.

2014/15 champions Dundalk will host Athlone Town, while Shamrock Rovers face a trip to the winner of Leinster Senior League title challengers Killester Donnycarney and Bluebell United.

Pat Devlin’s current team will host his former side Bray Wanderers, while UCD will play the winners of Leinster Senior League pacesetters Crumlin United and Malahide United in Belfield.

The winner of Ayrfield United and FAI Junior Cup champions North End United will be rewarded with a home tie against Longford Town.

Finally, Drogheda United will have to wait for three rounds to resolve themselves before facing Firhouse Clover, Sheriff YC, Hanover Harps of Carlow or Ashford Rovers of Wicklow.

Leinster Senior Cup fourth round draw:

Shelbourne v Bohemians

St Patrick’s Athletic v Wexford

Dundalk v Athlone Town

Killester Donnycarney or Bluebell United v Shamrock Rovers

Cabinteely v Bray Wanderrs

UCD v Crumlin United or Malahide United

Ayrfield United or North End United v Longford Town

Ashford Rovers or Hanover Harps or Sheriff YC or Firhouse Clover v Drogheda United