Website -

Team Profile

Nickname:The Town

Ground: Athlone Town Stadium

Capacity: 6000

Phone: 090 6486427

Athlone Town,
Co. Westmeath

Athlone Town F.C. was founded in 1887 and is the oldest Association football club in Ireland. They were first elected to the League of Ireland in 1922 when they finished sixth of twelve, and won their first major trophy when they won the 1924 FAI Cup, beating Cork side Fordsons in the final.

Athlone spent six seasons in the League before being replaced by Drumcondra at the end of the 1927/28 season, next entering League of Ireland competition in 1969. They won their first League title in !980/81, repeating the feat two years later.

Athlone played their home games at St Mel's Park up until the end of the 2006 season, and moved into their new home at Lissywoollen at the start of the 2007 season.

League Champions:Twice
1980-81, 1982/83

First Division Champions: Twice
1987/88, 2013.

FAI Cup Winners: Once

League Cup Winners: Three times
1979/80, 1981/82, 1982/83

Team headshots are courtesy of Ashley Cahill of AC Sports Images

Squad Breakdown

If you spot incorrect info, email

NameDate of BirthPosition
Darcy Lawless Ireland 02 Aug 2000 Goalkeeper
Shaun O'Donnell Ireland 28 Jan 1991 Goalkeeper
Michael Fogarty Ireland Unavailable Goalkeeper
Nathan Murphy Ireland 15 Jul 1995 Goalkeeper
Cormac Raftery Ireland 27 Apr 1995 Defender
Craig Shortt Ireland 13 Oct 1991 Defender
Aaron Brilly Ireland 13 Oct 1995 Defender
Daniel O'Donovan Ireland 29 Sep 1998 Defender
Robert O'Leary Ireland 10 Feb 1998 Defender
Joseph Offorjama Ireland Unavailable Defender
Ollie Hamzat Ireland 02 Aug 1996 Midfield
Felix Bape Spain Unavailable Midfield
Bashmil Nyakambili Ireland Unavailable Midfield
Josh Hogan Ireland 30 Jun 1999 Midfield
Ger Smyth Ireland Unavailable Midfield
Joe Carmody Ireland 18 Jul 2000 Midfield
Ian Fletcher Ireland 01 Oct 1996 Midfield
Thaigh Keogh Ireland Unavailable Midfield
Shane Stokes Ireland 05 May 1999 Midfield
Luke Kelly Ireland 02 Jul 1999 Midfield
Jake O'Connor Ireland 22 Oct 1998 Midfield
Steven Grogan Ireland 21 Jul 1997 Midfield
Eoin Roche Ireland 08 Mar 1987 Midfield
Toyeeb Mustapha Ireland 26 Aug 1995 Midfield
Ryan Gaffey Ireland 05 Jul 1997 Forward
Martin Walshe Ireland Unavailable Forward
Barry Davies Ireland Unavailable Forward
George Mukete Ireland 13 Jun 1998 Forward
Etanda Nkololo France 01 Jul 1987 Forward
Aaron Williams Ireland Unavailable Forward
Darren Boyle Ireland Unavailable Unknown
Darren Kavanagh Ireland 27 Feb 1997 Unknown
Brian Cabraley Ireland Unavailable Unknown
Rory McCullough Ireland Unavailable Unknown